Psalm 40:3 

“He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the Lord.”
I know of several ministers who have been singing a new song of late. Let me explain. These people love the Lord and they are engaged in faithful ministry. Lately, however, I have heard each of them singing a new song. It is an inspiring song. It speaks of dramatic transformation. It speaks of how their lives have been changed drastically for the better. So why am I concerned? Because the song they are singing concerns weight loss. Less and less do I hear them speak of Christ’s transforming power in the heart of the one who has faith. And more and more they recruit others to share in this transforming weight loss program they’ve found. Saying, “Regain your health and life!”   
I fear that what is being conveyed is that the reality of weight loss is to be expected and celebrated more than the reality of heart transformation through the gospel. After all, who really believes that sort of transformation is possible these days? It is so easy to sing a different song. Some of my friends from school have begun to speak a different message. For example: a social gospel, a prosperity gospel, a seeker-friendly gospel, a business model gospel. Often, it is a temptation for me to speak a more palatable message.   
The song this psalmist sings is unique to God-fearing people. Only the redeemed can sing this song so the world desperately needs to hear its witness. It is a song of praise to God for having done something that no one else could do. And it was all by grace. The psalmist will spend the rest of His life singing this song because the riches of God’s salvation, mercy, faithfulness and steadfast love cannot be exhausted. Notice verse 5,
“You have multiplied, Oh Lord my God, your wondrous deeds and your thoughts towards us; none can compare with you! I will proclaim and tell of them, yet they are more than can be told.”
He goes on to say in verses 9-10, 
“I have told the glad news of deliverance in the great congregation; behold, I have not restrained my lips, as you know, O Lord. I have not hidden your deliverance within my heart; I have spoken of your faithfulness and your salvation; I’ve not concealed your steadfast love and your faithfulness from the great congregation.”
I know that christians desire to see our communities experience renewal and revival. We desire to see many fear the Lord and put their trust in Him. But to do this our message needs to be clear. The gospel has to be declared without any ambiguity. We need to be more excited about the gospel and its effects in us than about anything else.  
Our message needs to be Christ focused and Christ exalting. Because anything less will not result in accomplishing what the Psalmist desires to see here in Psalm 40. Which is to see people putting their trust in the Lord. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment